Quick Reference: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Free online encyclopedia with pictures, facts and videos

An online fact-checked encyclopedia with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos and more

An online resource with thousands of articles about animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria, compiled from biodiversity knowledge providers around the world

The Literary Encyclopedia publishes biographies of writers; scholarly descriptions of all texts written by these authors, and a variety of essays on literary, cultural, and historical matters.

Easy-to-understand answers about diseases and conditions

The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries

A free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics provided by the NLM

Free online medical reference.

Reference book for professional health providers

This guide for nursing theories and nursing theorists aims to help you understand what comprises a nursing theory and its importance, purpose, history, types, or classifications, and give you an overview through summaries of selected nursing theories.

Searchable drug information

A user-generated content collection platform for researchers with additional contributions published by content experts.

A peer-reviewed, open-access encyclopedia. Similar to wikipedia, except all the entries have been written and approved by scholars in the field

From the American Psychological Association

Includes grammar explanations, a thesaurus, and a translator

A guick reference and guide to pedagogical terms. Developed by Washington University in St. Louis.

Online version of the well-known dictionary

Services as a reference guide of DEI terms that are critical to our shared understanding for the need to
advance efforts to address systemic racism in our system.

Glossary of terms related to the nursing professional and professional nursing practice

Find open textbooks on many subjects.

A reference book of human anatomy, originally published in 1858.

Diverse collection of nursing textbooks and supplemental resources

A comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine.

The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information.

Clinical medicine, nursing, and other health sciences books

High-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online.

An online library of textbooks licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted.

Comprehensive, 1,400-page, handbook for nurses on patient safety and quality from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.