Library Homepage: Multimedia: Other Sources

Multimedia Outside the Library

Multimedia outside the library

A note on copyright: If you wish to use multimedia found online, be sure that it is free of copyright restrictions, that you have permission to use it and/or that it has a Creative Commons license that allows for its use.
Many of the sites listed in this section have work available for use under various Creative Commons licenses.

More information about Creative Commons licenses and what to look for:

Creative Commons
More information about APA citation for multimedia sources:

APA Reference Examples - Audiovisual

Internet Archive
Access historical collections which exist in digital format. Search for a variety of formats including video, audio, television, images, concerts and more.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Most of the images in the collection are in the public domain and are thus free of any copyright restrictions. If you look directly beneath the image you will see a fair use statement that tells you if the image is public domain or copyright protected.
Unsplash
Over six million curated images. All images can be downloaded and used for free but must be cited.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The digital collections comprise millions of items including books, newspapers, manuscripts, prints and photos, maps, musical scores, films, sound recordings and more. Whenever possible, each collection has its own rights statement which should be consulted for guidance on use.
Smithsonian Open Access
Smithsonian Open Access provides access to more than 4.9 million 2D and 3D digital items from their collections. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 21 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Discover 51,028,950 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States